WavebreakMediaMicro - Fotolia

Is your data center certification knowledge up to date?

While the Uptime Institute was once the standard for data center certification, challenges from Switch, OSDA and others threaten to shake up the market. Take this quiz to certify your knowledge.

Since the inception of the four tiers in 2008, the Uptime Institute has been the flag bearer for data center certification and has certified more than 1,000 data centers. Each tier features different requirements, with Tier IV demanding several areas of power redundancy and backup.

However, the Uptime Institute's competitors, such as The Green Grid, Switch and UL LLC., hope to fill in gaps in the evaluation process to generate a more well-rounded data center certification collection for administrators to choose from. Do you think you know the difference between them?

Next Steps

How well do you know the Uptime Institute tiers?

Data center admins want internet of things certifications, too

Different data center standards and metrics to know

Dig Deeper on Data center design and facilities